Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023: Darrelle Revis, Joe Thomas, Dwight Freeney among finalists

San Diego Chargers vs. New York Jets

Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the 15 finalists for the Class of 2023 on Wednesday night, and three freshman-eligible players are on the list.

Cornerback Darrelle Revis, offensive tackle Joe Thomas and point carrier Dwight Freeney made the cut five years after their careers ended.

Additionally, safety Darren Woodson and cornerback Albert Lewis are first-time finalists. Lewis is in his 20th year of eligibility and Woodson in his 15th.

Selectors will consider modern-era candidates in a virtual meeting ahead of Super Bowl LVII, with the new class being announced Jan. 9 during the NFL Honors show in Arizona. The class of 2023 will include a maximum of five modern-era nominees, and each must receive a minimum 80% positive vote for election.

Senior finalists Chuck Howley, Joe Klecko and Ken Riley and coach/contributor finalist Don Coryell are also on the ballot for the election.

The Modern Era ballot began with 129 nominees, initially narrowed down to 28 semi-finalists.

Here are the 15 finalists from the modern era:

• Jared Allen, defensive end – Kansas City Chiefs 2004-07, Minnesota Vikings 2008-2013, 2014-15
Chicago Bears, Carolina Panthers 2015

• Willie Anderson, Offensive Tackle – Cincinnati Bengals 1996-2007, Baltimore Ravens 2008

• Ronde Barber, Cornerback/Safety – 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

• Dwight Freeney, defensive end/outside linebacker – Indianapolis Colts 2002-2012, 2013-14
San Diego Chargers, 2015 Arizona Cardinals, 2016 Atlanta Falcons, 2017 Seattle Seahawks, 2017
Detroit Lions

• Devin Hester, punt returner/punt returner/wide receiver – Chicago Bears 2006-13, Atlanta Falcons 2014-15, Baltimore Ravens 2016

• Torry Holt, wide receiver – St. Louis Rams 1999-2008, Jacksonville Jaguars 2009

• Andre Johnson, wide receiver – Houston Texans 2003-2014, Indianapolis Colts 2015, 2016
Tennessee Titans

• Albert Lewis, cornerback – 1983-93 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

• Darrelle Revis, Cornerback – New York Jets 2007-2012, Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2013, 2014
New England Patriots, New York Jets 2015-16, Kansas City Chiefs 2017

• Joe Thomas, Offensive tackle – 2007-2017 Cleveland Browns

• Zach Thomas, Linebacker – Miami Dolphins 1996-2007, Dallas Cowboys 2008

• DeMarcus Ware, linebacker/defensive end – Dallas Cowboys 2005-2013, Denver 2014-16

• Reggie Wayne, wide receiver – Indianapolis Colts 2001-2014

• Patrick Willis, Linebacker – San Francisco 49ers 2007-2014

• Darren Woodson, Safety – Dallas Cowboys 1992-2003

Leave a Comment